Caring for your whistles&flutes

You might have seen -or imagined- some venerable Irish musicians playing battered instruments and leaving them on beer-soaked pub tables, and you may have come to the conclusion that a genuine ‘trad’ instrument requires no preventive care whatsoever. But contrary to popular belief, a flute or whistle does not age well, and if not cared for properly, its initial sound qualities will rapidly fade away. Please treat them carefully!

Any particular reason? As you play your whistle regularly, dried saliva and finger sweat tend to accumulate in the canal and toneholes. For wooden flutes, humidity release some fibers which make the bore suface somewhat rough. These modifications of the instrument will impair significantely the original sound and response as designed and tuned by the flutemaker. Whistles are particularly sensitive to minute changes in the windway area, and you might be surprised how quickly this happens during normal use.

How can I avoid this? For your tinwhistle, it’s very straighforward: wash your instrument regularly with lukewarm soapy water, and sometimes clean the canal using a thin strip or thick paper. As for the outside, you are free to polish it or not -it has no effect on the sound. A regular dishwashing scouring sponge does the trick for aluminium whistles. For the brass tuning slides, apply at drop of lanoline (sold in pharmacies) to obtain a perfect tacky seal. And I do recommend using a cleaning rod for wiping the bore as often as possible.

I recently discovered that a nice cleaning rod can be made with those ‘microfibre’ towels sold for housecleaning jobs.  Just glue a piece of this stuff on a properly sized wooden rod, et voilà: you can clean the bore -up to the cork- of both your wooden flutes and whistles.

Entretien des whistles et flûtes

En voyant les vieux musiciens irlandais et leurs instruments rafistolés traînant sur les tables de pub poisseuses de bière, on peut être tenté de penser qu’un vrai instrument ‘trad’ ne requiert aucun entretien. Mais contrairement aux légendes en cours, une flûte ou un whistle se bonifie rarement avec l’âge. Et si son entretien est négligé, le son va très vite en pâtir. Faites-y attention !

Pourquoi ? Au cours d’une utilisation normale, on observe souvent des dépôts de salive séchée dans l’embouchure et des dépôts de sébum dans les trous. De plus, pour les flûtes en bois, les fibres de la paroi intérieure se relèvent sous l’effet de l’humidité. Or ces modifications de rugosité de la perce et de diamètre effectif des trous vont dégrader sensiblement la réponse de l’instrument (sauf si celui-ci présente un défaut d’origine que ces effets vont par hasard venir compenser un peu). Les whistles sont particulièrement sensibles à tous les dépôts dans le canal, la fenêtre et la perce, et ces dépôts se forment toujours plus vite que l’on ne croit.

Comment faire ? Pour les whistles c’est très simple : laver régulièrement l’instrument à l’eau savonneuse, et passer une petite languette en carton dans le canal. Pour l’extérieur, je vous laisse juge du degré de poli que vous souhaitez, cela n’a pas d’effet sur le son…Pour les whistles en aluminium, une simple éponge à récurer la vaisselle fait merveille. Pour les coulisses en laiton, une touche de lanoline (vendu en pharmacie) assure une lubrification un peu collante idéale. Enfin, je conseille d’essuyer régulièrement l’intérieur avec un écouvillon adapté.

J’ai découvert récemment qu’on obtient un essuyage de l’intérieur très efficace avec les lingettes en microfibre à bouclettes vendues en grande surface. On peut en couper un bout ‘en drapeau’ sur une baguette de bois, ce qui permet de nettoyer la perce – jusqu’au bouchon ! – des flûtes et des whistles.